Dogs Are Dogs Big or Small

Posted: May 8, 2013 in Pit Bulls
Tags: , , , ,

Lilly

Just a quick update before I get to today’s post. Forrest is back with me. We need some work on our manners when it comes to cats other than that he is a happy healthy little guy full of spunk. He is still up for adoption outside of BSL land (Ontario). Right now he would be perfect for someone who is in a home with no cats. On the other hand we are going to be working on his cat issues so hopefully he will become ok with cats.I haven’t gotten to witness his interactions with them as we don’t have one at home but I think the real issue is his constant want to play with them. More pics and a full update on Forrest coming soon.

I was updating myself on the pet related news as I usually do. I came across an especially sad story of a pit bull and chihuahua. They are often caught snuggling each other. It pulls on my heart-strings as it reminds me of the way that my small dog Lilly gets along with her sister and foster brothers. It makes me sad to think about it but if Stella and Lilly ever found themselves in a position like that I could see them snuggling for comfort. I often find her snuggling up to them after they have fallen asleep (she likes them a lot more than she likes to let on).

People often chuckle at the assortment of sized dogs that I have. Lilly is tiny maybe 5-8 lbs with Stella being the largest at close to 100 lbs. Both of the foster pups fall in between.  I personally believe that dogs of all size and breed can get along, period. Do you have special cases where dogs are not tolerant of other dogs? Of course. Is it just pit bulls? Absolutely Not. Does it take time for your dogs to learn what interactions are appropriate? Absolutely.  But for the large majority of dogs I believe that they can live together regardless of size or breed. It’s all about what you allow as far as their interactions go. Although I find in my scenario anyway Lilly is just fine to assert herself and set her boundaries as far as play and personal space go.  Lilly is proof that dogs big and small can live together as she has grown up her whole life around rescued pit mixes. We as humans are the ones who place such a large importance on breed. Dogs are thankfully ignorant to breed or often the discrimination that comes along with being or looking like a certain breed.

The end of the article goes on to say that chihuahua’s are right up there with pit bulls on the list of dogs most often put down in shelters in California. I have friends that rescue small dogs mostly chihuahua and chihuahua mixes. They live on the east coast so clearly it is not just a west coast problem.  It got me to thinking why are these little dogs being given up almost as much as the dreaded pit bull (hopefully you can sense the sarcasm)?  I thought I’d weigh in with my OPINION.  Pit bulls are medium large-sized dogs. I don’t exactly think anyone would be calling a Chihuahua a large dog any time soon. Pit bulls are often sought out by criminals who think that they are guard dogs or that they look tough holding one  (just for information sake they aren’t nor were they ever bred to guard things). Chihuahuas on the other hand are often sought out by the polar opposite  social group.

It’s hard to draw similarities between the two other than they are both dogs. The commonality I found is that they are both being sought out to fulfil a purpose. When the dog does not live up that purpose they are dumped at a shelter. Now the reasoning behind people hunting down chihuahuas and pit bulls are vastly different but both are equally as damaging to the breed. It’s sad that people can’t see that dogs are dogs and they have needs which as their owner it’s your job to meet. Your dog relies on you.  It reminds me of my crazy neighbour who yells at me for roller blading with Lilly(who gets more enjoyment out of running than any of my dogs). People often make the mistake that just because a dog is small that it doesn’t require the same basic needs that all dogs do. Exercise, rules, boundaries, are just some of the things all dogs need big or small. When these needs aren’t met problems arise. Sadly many people’s solution to their dogs problems is to drop the dog on the door step of a shelter instead of put the time and effort into fixing it. Like in so many other cases it’s the dog that suffers the consequences instead of the human. 

Leave a Reply

