Dingo Ate My Baby!

Posted: March 29, 2013 in Pit Bulls
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

PIT

Let me start by saying I’m not a parent . I’m not an expert at raising kids or dogs for that matter. I am just a guy with 4 pretty well-behaved dogs (although a lot of time and work goes into making them that way).  So last night I read one article on dog’s body language and the tell-tale signs that a dog is stressed. Stress  is always a key factor in dog bites.  The other bit of media I saw was a video. The contents were horrifying but only to the trained eye. If you’re picturing sad and abused dogs your wrong. I’m not sure everyone would have seen what I saw. I tried and failed to find the video today. It was of a little boy and a Rottweiler. This child was man handling this dog. I was amazed that this baby was not bitten. He was very rough from the start with the dog and right up in his face. You could tell his parents were uneducated about dogs (and I believe child raising as well but that’s up for debate). They were encouraging this type of behaviour out of the child. The dog moved away once or twice and the child was egged on by the Mom and Dad to continue harassing or in their eyes “playing” with the dog. The poor Rotti is displaying all the signs of being under serious stress most of which go unnoticed by his owners. At one point the child is sitting on the dog bouncing up and down hard on the dogs ribs. You can see him begin to pant harder not only due to stress but he is now fighting for breath as well. Finally he gets up and leaves. The parents laugh and make it all a big joke. If their dog would have bitten their child it would have been their fault but I’m sure we would have heard how ” they had now idea what happened” or “it came out of no where”. Coupled with a slew of negative press for that Rotti. When in reality the child and his parents basically set the dog up for failure by putting it in that situation.  Like I said this dog was extremely tolerant of the child’s behaviour despite being incredibly stressed by it. He didn’t bite and did not even issue the child a growl. I wouldn’t always count on this behaviour.

We need to be responsible when it comes to children and pets. This will curb tail the amount of children being bitten by dogs not just pit bulls or power breeds. They should be taught from a young age what is appropriate and what is not. Like the world around them they need to treat a dog with the respect it deserves. Whether it be a pit bull or a yorkie. At the end of the day a dog is an animal. It does not posses the capacity to say well this child means me no harm despite grabbing my face and bouncing on my ribs for 20 mins. When approaching a new dog children should be taught to first ask the owner if the dog is friendly. Then calmly pet the dong on his back. Many dogs do not enjoy to be approached and pet on top of the head. Although I think calm  is the real key here. I remember when I had Bently he had never been around kids before so I just wasn’t sure how he would act. He had a great temperament so I assumed he would be good with them but had never been able to test the theory. One day we were at a local pet store. Sure enough before we could even get in the door of the pet store a young girl had approached him and without even asking just grabbed him by his muzzle and started excitedly putting her face in his. He calmly sat and let this little girl pull his ears, pet his face, and allowed her to be really excited with out it having an effect on him. Not all dogs will have this reaction.  Many times a child is excited to see or pet a dog and is giving off an excited energy. Dogs are incredibly in tune with energy and this type in particular usually makes them stressed or excited. Something which is not natural to them. Some dogs who do not know how to deal with this energy can cause them to release the stress in the form of a bite. Dont believe in energy just test the theory. Leave your house for a bit and come in and greet your dogs in an excited manner. Leave again and come in calmly no baby voice and big greeting, ignore them. Notice the difference! In the end we just need to be responsible and always make sure our kids are having appropriate inter actions with our four-legged friends. That way they don’t end up being a media spectacle no matter what breed they are.

Comments
  1. Marcela says:

    Wow! Excellent, informative and educational post. I totally agree with you. Some pet parents are clueless about reading a dog’s body language and they allow their children to do things that would stress a dog out and a lot of them would result in a bite, or worse, death. I am a very strong supporter on continuing education because it allows pet parents to learn and figure out their dogs. The dog is sending clear signals that he is stressed out, but when pet parents don’t know how to read body language and signals, that is just a recipe for disaster. If you want to have a dog, regardless of the breed, please do yourself and your future dog a favor and read, ask questions, take a class, etc. Learn about dogs so when they are part of your life if there were to be any issues you could spot it before it gets out of hand.

  2. I know exactly the video you’re talking about, I even msg’d them telling them to teach their child to be gentle with the dog like I do my daycare children, that was an accident waiting to happen, I wish it were mandatory for people to have to take at least one info class before buying a dog.

  3. Jon says:

    Really interesting, thanks for sharing.

  4. I believe I have that video saved on my computer.

Leave a Reply

