So  I’ve talked before about Bullies In Need a rescue we foster for. They are a pitbull and bully breed dog rescue here in Ottawa. Dogs are rescued from shelters, fostered, and then rehomed outside of the province due to the BSL here. Some of the dogs are ok to adopted in Ontario some are not (check out our website for a listing of adoptable dogs.) Fostering has been an amazing experience so far. I’m thankful for everyday I get to spend with Opie. He is an amazing little guy. He has been such a great introduction into the world of fostering. Like I said I totally believe you get the dog you need. I think for my first experience with fostering I could not have asked for a more positive one. He has been an amazing guide.

I thought that each Friday my post would be about fostering or our foster dogs we have here in BIN. I recently had the chance to baby sit another one of our young guys Mojo he was awesome and fit right in with my pack. As I write this I’m in the process of getting everything ready to take in Forest a little guy from Toronto who is need of a place to crash and to brush up on some manners. Who knows he may end up staying if Opie finds a forever home. Which I hope he does because he really deserves one.

Opie has been amazingly easy to raise. I really credit it to his willingness to learn combined with  his eager nature to please.We have always been consistent with him, from day one he was shown what was expected of him and those expectations have never changed. He is a very smart pup and very food motivated so training with him has been a breeze. Stella helped us out a bunch with showing him the boundaries of our yard and even potty training. He knows all his basic commands sit, stay, down, give both paws, stand, and roll over. He even does a small agility course. It’s pretty impressive for a little guy.

It helps dogs especially puppies to get on some sort of a schedule. We usually get up at about 730 8 ish. I open his cage door and he waits patiently to come out.

20130322_113751

We also wait patiently at the door to go outside. Just because the door is open does not mean we go outside.

20130322_113827

He also knows that to come inside he needs to sit and wait patiently. Next we usually eat breakfast or go for a walk/rollerblade. He walks well on a leash rarely pulling. He loves to run beside you while you jog or rollerblade. If we run first thing then we eat when we come home. He  knows the feeding time ritual of waiting calmly for his food. Opie has been a great eater from day one ( he is a little chunky despite a good amount of exercise). He has zero food aggression towards humans or other dogs, I’ve even caught him and Stella sharing food from the same bowl.

2013-03-22 19.08.13

He is an amazingly well-behaved guy who deserves a great home. If your outside of Ontario and are interested please email bullies_in_need@hotmail.com and fill out an app. You can check out our webpage here.

Oh did I mention He was a snuggler.

20130113_161050

20130127_153912

Comments
  1. Jen says:

    hey, just wondering – how is it you’re able to foster Opie in Ontario with the BSL and all?
    awesome blog btw

Leave a Reply

